+975 2 323256

The Kingdom of Bhutan is located in the eastern end of the Himalaya Mountains and bordered to the south, east and west by the Republic of India and to the north by the People’s Republic of China. Bhutan is also known as Druk Yul, which means “Land of Dragon” to the people of Bhutan.


Land area

38,394 square kilometers


Dzongkha (official language) English (widely spoken)

National tree


Land area



Dzongkha (official language) English (widely spoken)

National flower





Ngultrum (equal to Indian Rupee)

Gross National Happiness (GNH), propounded by the 4th King Jigme Singye Wangchuck in 1972, serves as Bhutan’s guiding philosophy. GNH aspires to define an indicator that measures quality of life in more holistic and psychological terms than Gross National Product or Gross Domestic Product. The four pillars of GNH are: economic self-reliance, a pristine environment, the  reservation and promotion of Bhutan’s culture and good governance.

Bhutan’s landscape ranges from subtropical plains in the south to the Sub-alpine Himalayan heights in the north, with some peaks exceeding 7,000 meters. Dzongkha is the national language, while Mahayana Buddhism is the spiritual heritage of the Kingdom with Hinduism being the second-largest religion. The population of Bhutan is roughly 634,982 and the capital and largest city is Thimphu. The currency of Bhutan is the ngultrum and it is equivalent to the Indian rupee.